Ice Vajal :: Music Land :: Metal World
editorial :: feedback :: newsletter ::  
   Bands :: A-Z / S / Status Quo /

On disc: Status Quo

Quid Pro Quo - Mike Thompson - 8 stars
Back2 SQ1 - Claudia Ehrhardt - 7 stars

Back2 SQ1

Back2 SQ1
(earMusic - 2013)

In 1977 British boogie rocker Status Quo released Live and it kinda documented their career which was pretty successful, so to speak. Now more then 30 years later the Frantic Four are back on stage. The tickets for their 4 shows in the UK were sold within no time and so it was obviously a good idea to record it for a live album / DVD. They decided to record the last show which took place March 17th 2013 at Wembley arena. Now Back2 SQ1 is in stores and shows that Francis Rossi and Rick Parfitt are still alive and kickin'! The guys obviously enjoy to play their old tunes, but the old magic was missing a bit. The audience get more enthusiastic with every song sung by Francis Rossi. Why they didn't play their classic Rockin' All Over The World? No idea, but Status Quo fans will find enough classic in this set. Btw, the live CD set is a recording of the shows at Hammersmith Odeon at March 15th/16th 2013, but I can't tell if it's the same set, coz I only got the DVD for reviewing. Die-hard fans will go for the box set where both live CDs and the DVD / Blu-ray is included plus a DVD-Rom with bonus stuff from the tour and it's rehearsals.

It's surely a trip down memory lane and fans of Status Quo will surely enjoy every moment!

Track listing:

01. Intro/Junior's Wailing
02. Backwater
03. Just Take Me
04. Is There a Better Way
05. In My Chair
06. Blue Eyed Lady
07. Little Lady
08. Most Of the Time
09. [April] Spring, Summer and Wednesdays
10. Railroad
11. Oh Baby
12. Forty - Five Hundred Times
13. Rain
14. Big Fat Mama
15. Down Down
16. Roadhouse Blues
17. Don't Waste My Time
18. Bye Bye Johnny
19. Bonus material: 70 min. Behind the Scenes documentation

7 stars

Claudia Ehrhardt


Quid Pro Quo

Quid Pro Quo
(ear music - 2011)

Status Quo has come to be more than a band. These old rockers are an institution, as quintessentially British as warm ale, Marmite and cricket. This is the band's 29th studio album, a monstrous figure and a testament to the hard work of Parfitt, Rossi and co.

Status Quo have always had their own sound and it is this they have perfected throughout their career. This latest album continues the good time rock'n'roll style of Status Quo. It is the quintessential driving music. This music was made for cruising down a coastal highway on a hot summer's day, convertible roof down and wind flowing through your hair. Jeremy Clarkson would love it.

There are no surprises on this album whatsoever and this could have made it a very boring release. However, as predictable as Quid Pro Quo may be its still thoroughly enjoyable. My favorite song was undoubtedly Frozen Hero but there are so many feel-good songs on here that I couldn't help but smile throughout the entire 57 minute duration. It also includes In the Army Now (2010) as the final track which just as good as the original Quo version.

Status Quo fans will buy this album anyway but I would recommend this to anyone who likes a bit of fun, light rock. So, to I'll end this review with the only three words I actually needed to type – Its Status Quo!

8 stars

Mike Thompson


           ©2008-2015 by Claudia Ehrhardt • E-Mail:

Bands S