Ice Vajal :: Music Land :: Metal World
editorial :: feedback :: newsletter ::  
   Bands :: A-Z / S / Soulcages /

On disc: Soulcages

- Moments - Volker Raabe - 6 stars


(Massacre Records - 1996)

The German band Soulcages can be proud of their arrangements and instrumentation. The four guys - plus a girl who's doing the back­ings - play what can be described as melodic progressive rock in the vain of Rush, Psychotic Waltz and Fates Warning. A negative aspect of Moments is the vocal part of singer Thorsten Staroske which is pretty boring. On their self-titled debut is was the same and it seems like Mr. Staroske wasn't able to develop. Perhaps the band should think about adding a singer, then Thorsten can concentrate on his guitar play. Beside that the production could be a little more powerful.

6 stars

Volker Raabe
(translation: Claudia Ehrhardt)


           2008-2010 by Claudia Ehrhardt • E-Mail:

Bands S